A Day of Reckoning

Hi Everyone, Everywhere,

Well it has been an interesting week. I have been playing and writing, but more than that, I’ve been watching people…my people…the disabled. And seeing how much the odds seem to stack against us. No matter what, it seems as though we have to try ten times harder than anyone else just to get our point across. There are some brilliant people who have disabilities and people don’t stop to ask them, so how would you know.

My mission when I started this writing project was to speak for those who couldn’t speak for themselves the only way I know how, through writing and music. That’s what I am and that’s what I know but what I see is constant daily injustice that sometimes seems more of a burden than just trying to get out of  bed in the morning.

Next time you see a disabled person, instead of running the other way, why don’t you stop and say hello. And what they say back may just blow your bloody mind. Amen, that’s all.

Now it’s time, if only for a moment to close our eyes and our thoughts and rest. Until we meet again at Stan’s Glass Emporium on the corner of Biggar and Lonesome Drive, right next to the old theatre, I’ll leave you with a few words from…

ARE YOU THERE?

eyes

It was a Thursday afternoon. I’m out working the field. It was a hot day, you know what I mean, sun, heat, sweat rolling down my chest. But as usual, I’m talking to myself. Then it’s funny what happened next. I felt a cool mist dance across me, and as I straightened up, there she was.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

 

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

