THE PASSING

Hi everyone everywhere,
Yesterday I turned 59 and it was a quiet day for me. I went for a walk and I sat and thought, and  realized that since my friend Merv passed I’ve been angry. I didn’t know what was going to happen with the house, with me, with Merv’s son. So I realized that I’ve been angry for about six months, and I don’t do anger that well. And I think I was angry because I realized that everything was slipping away in my mind and I was afraid sometimes of the future because I can’t see it. But I know, in reality, it’s time to turn the house over to Merv’s son, and that’s the way it’s supposed to be. It’s time for me to move on, and I’m at peace with that now. I just don’t have any anger left inside. I’m too tired. Merv’s son needs to learn how to live without his father. And that will be hard because he’s a young man. But I think in time everything will be just fine. That’s all.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts…and rest.  Until we meet again at Becker’s Farm Supply and Knitting Emporium, right on the corner of Belcher and Flamm. And now…

THE CROW

american_crow_8

I woke this morning as I have for a week and when I looked out my window I kept seeing this crow. It didn’t speak.

So I talked to him, and I called him my friend’s name,

and it’s funny, he just sort of turned his head.

It’s funny, it’s almost like a game. I say hello, he just turns his head.

I called him Merv but I could have called him Fred.

It’s funny what loss can do, but when that crow flies I still get some mist in my eyes

and I always remember to say my goodbyes.

To the crow and to my friend.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

