A DAY OF RECKONING

Hi everybody, everywhere,

You know this week has been quite a week. I played with my band and it was sensational. I also played at the blues bar on Sunday then walked home twelve blocks. I was hurrying, and my balance is not good when I’m hurrying. I usually smash into walls and things like that. I can’t help it. Anyways, Sunday when I got home I was washing up for bed and I dropped something on the floor of the bathroom. When I went to pick it up I moved too fast which means I lose my balance. I know that, and I know I shouldn’t do it, but I was tired and I was in a hurry. I lost my balance and tried to stand up quickly  and my head caught the corner of the counter and it cut my head. I guess I fell and smashed my eye and my shoulder.

I must have blacked out for a bit because I went in my room, put on my house coat and was sitting on my bed when I found that there was a lot of blood dripping. So I called 911. I was alone; my nephew hadn’t got home yet. He got home when the ambulance got there. He washed the floors and cleaned up everything. I was in the hospital all night. They took blood. No alcohol. I said, “I know that. I was getting ready for bed.”

Oh well, I’m back on my feet. A few stitches here and there. but I’m still as handsome as I was before. Just a little more scarred. That’s all.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts if only for a moment. Until we meet again at Carl’s Disposal Site and Beauty Products Emporium on the corner of Hutch Street and Sun Avenue.

A WINDY DAY FOR THINKING

Bridge

The man walked across the bridge watching the water and thinking how things had changed when he wasn’t even looking. What he meant was life is very funny. It picks you up, straightens you out, or puts you down and makes you climb back up again.

Sometimes you have to get your eggs in the basket so to speak before you can move on. There’s nothing wrong with trying to cover your ass. And as the man walked across the bridge and got to the other side, he said, “Yeah I’m going to deal with this. With a smile of course. And a soft word. Always.”

And he did all that thinking on a windy day. I can’t believe he did that.

That’s it.

(Never ever give up)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

