A BUMPY RIDE

Hello everyone everywhere,

You know, this week has been quite something. I have been through an operation, I have had to travel out of town twice in a week for this, I still have my concussion, and under all that, I’m still writing and playing ’cause that’s what I do.

I hope you’re all well. I know these days are very trying; there’s a lot going on in the world that’s very scary and it’s hard to get your head around all of this stuff. It just keeps coming. But I think that you still have to get up every day, look at the sky, and say, “Thank you for another day. It’s a great day to be alive.” And for those of you who feel it’s not, I’m telling you it gets better with time. You’ve just got to keep trying.

One thing I’ve found this week in my confusion is that though I’m moving a lot slower, my passion has not been spoiled. I was afraid of that because another head injury was not what I was expecting, and this one scared me. Although, as usual, I came up smiling. I knew that I was going to be all right and I just carried on. I learned a lesson. Slow down.

Well that is it for now, I guess. Until we meet again at Sissy and Billy’s Alligator Farm and Wedding Dress Boutique on the corner of Rampel Street and Norah Avenue.

WHERE’S MY FISH, BILLY?

blubthefishhh

She came across the sand in a splendor that carried her to and fro.

I think this girl is special, don’t you know?

She’s dancing down the beach, going for a fish fry.

‘Cause her friend Billy said, “I’ll have a fish for you or you can punch me in the eye.”

That Billy. He was some kind of guy.

Her name was Edith, and she loved to dance in the sun.

There were times in the summer when you’d think she’d never be done.

But she danced down that beach to get to her feast that Billy had promised, or you know…a black eye. (Remember?)

As she got to the spot where the fish fry was going to start.

She saw Billy was busy pulling fish apart.

She knew in a wink, and she knew in a smile.

Well I guess I’ll have that feast.

It will just take a little while.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

