I DIDN’T KNOW IT WAS DARK IN HERE

Hello everyone, everywhere,

Okay, this past week has been full of turmoil and craziness in my personal life. I’m still riding the bus. That’s okay, they’re nice people and I’m figuring it out. My nephew finally left the roost yesterday. Gone to live with his girlfriend and start his life. Thank god for both of us. Anyways, other than that the band has been great. We’ve got some gigs coming up which I’m really looking forward to.

The weather sucks. I hate winter. I know some people love it, but when it’s hard to get around, winter’s a bitch. But anyways, I’m in my big castle all by myself now and I’m just waiting for the sign to go up outside, and we’ll get on with it. It just seems funny after all these years. There’s always been so many people there and now it’s just me. Very quiet. I like that. That’s all.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts…and rest. That’s it until we meet again at Bob and Brenda Fergelbaums’s Archery and Child Care Emporium.

WHAT A DAY!

Walking-Cane

     Now our story begins in November, one month before Christmas. There was trouble on the North Pole. It seemed Santa’s reindeer Blitzen had a disagreement with Dancer and Comet. You see, Blitzen wanted to go south and hang out in the forest with his old friends, the Jinglers.
Dancer and Comet said, “You can’t leave now! We have to get ready for Christmas.” Blitzen snorted and said, “Sorry dudes, this guy has got to fly.” And off he flew, heading south to Flim Flam Forest.
Santa heard this story and he knew just what to do. He always does, doesn’t he?
So, Santa phoned his friend George Fibberknocker. George listened to Santa and said, “I’ll send my best boys. Don’t worry, we’ll find Blitzen.”
Well as it happened George forgot that all his best men went fishing at Kablabber Lake. Now George was worried. What was he going to do? He had given Santa his word. And that’s something.
George was looking out his window and pondering his problem when he noticed three kids hanging around outside: Sid Kitchen, Stanley Glister, and Chloe Whiteseal. George was thinking, Well these kids are 10 or 12…or maybe 25, I don’t know. It is sunny and I’m sure they could look for awhile, don’t you think so?
The kids waved to George. He called them over and said, “Kids, I’m in trouble. One of Santa’s main reindeer, Blitzen, is in the woods hanging out with his boys, the Jinglers. But Santa needs him back at the North Pole right away. Can you help me, kids?”
Chloe Whiteseal looked at George and said very softly, “We’ll help you Mr. Fibberknocker.” George looked at them and said, “But there are only three of you. We need four.”
Stanley said, “Who can we get on short notice?”
“I know who”, George exclaimed. “My nephew Max!”
All three of them looked at George and said, “THAT KID?”
George smiled at them and said, “He’ll be fine. You’ve got to have four people to walk in each direction.” That kid they were talking about was Max Fibberknocker, ten years old. Now Max lives with cerebral palsy. So he has a cane, (he calls it Edward), and he’s maybe a tick or two behind. He is shy like a lot of you are, but Max is full of life. He just needs a friend. He talks slower than you or me maybe, but Max thinks if someone would just stop and listen to him, if only for a moment, he might just blow their mind.
“Well,” Sid Kitchen said, “if we really need him, he can go, I guess.” Now Sid is 11. He’s got short brown hair. His front teeth are gone. He tells everyone it happened in a bear fight when he was camping, but everyone knows it really happened when he tripped on his way home from the store. Sid likes a little story to get the going good.
Then of course there was little Chloe Whiteseal. She is 11. She’s cute as a button though when people tell her that, see smiles and quietly says, “Thanks. I do my best.”
And then without further ado, let’s introduce Stanley Glister. Stanley. He’s a big guy. Pot belly, funny, always scratching his head. His favourite saying is, “I’ll get it done, even if I have to use somebody else.”
So off they went. All going in different directions.
Max liked the wind so he went north. The others went east, west, and south.
Now Max knew he talked a little different than you and me but he knew to watch for hoof prints. Stanley was yelling, “Here, reindeer! Here, reindeer!” Sid Kitchen was calling, “Turn your nose on Blitzen! Turn your nose on Blitzen!” (Sid was so smart he didn’t realize they weren’t looking for Rudolph).
Chloe Whiteseal was watching some deer and said to herself, “If I can’t find Blitzen, at least I saw some deer.” She was very proud of herself and that was just fine.
It seemed like forever for Max because walking wasn’t that easy for him.
Just when they were giving up, Max looked over to his right, and there were the Jinglers. Max went over to them and called, “Is anybody here named Blitzen?” One of them turned his head slowly and said, “I think you’re looking for me.”
Blitzen walked up to Max and said, “You look different than some others do.” Max smiled and said slowly, “I am different. Good though. Now see, I need a friend, that’s all.” Blitzen laughed and said to Max, “You had better turn around.”
And as he did, Chloe, Sid, and Stanley were smiling and yelling to Max. “Max,” they all said, “maybe you are different, but you are a good different. And you found Blitzen.” And as they took Blitzen back to George they all turned and said, “Max if you’ll have us, we want to be friends and we know: listen harder, don’t judge until you know who you are judging.” And they all laughed and watched Blitzen fly back to the North Pole.

NEVER EVER GIVE UP

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

