IT’S NICE TO SEE YOU SMILE

Hello everyone everywhere,

You know, the past few days have been absolutely unbelievable to me. I’m not going to go into it but it was very topsy turvy so to speak. I mean, I’ve been walking around and it’s been snowing and I’ve been shoveling, and shoveling…and shoveling, and practising. Three days a week in the studio, four hours a day, and my left arm is shot. I need a break.

So…the weather’s warming up! Yahoo! When I saw that, I started to feel better. And the next thing I knew I was out for dinner at Michelle and Dean’s (it was a lovely dinner by the way), and then after dinner I was on my way home and decided to stop at the blues bar for awhile to watch the boys playing. So I went there and of course they always ask me to play but last night I said no. (“How come?” Michelle asked. “Because I was too tired”, I said.) But I did have a great visit with everybody and listened to some great music. And then I went home. That’s it.

And now it’s time, if only for a moment, to close our eyes and our thoughts…and rest. Until we meet again at Sue and Wilf Spadona’s Taro Reading and Bingo Parlour Emporium on the corner of Block Avenue and Head Street, right behind the old man’s house. Yeah, that’s the one.

THE TROUBLE STARTED ON SLICK STREET

Slick Streete

Nothing but trouble. That’s what Vern Stensel thinks every time he walks down Slick Street. I’ll tell you, you know, Vern’s seen a lot on old Slick Street. Now he’s elderly and cannot understand why these kids don’t give him the respect he’s sure he deserves. He walks down the street every day and he says, “Well what are you doing? Get out of the way. Is that mine? No, I don’t think so.” And he carries on. Vern has always thought of himself as a very sociable man.

Slick Street was where Vern started out. He was a rounder. That’s a guy who does some of this and some of that. But as time went on, Vern’s rounder days became a little more standing still days.  Since he’s got his cataracts fixed, Vern can see everything. And everything, according to Vern, has changed. That’s the trouble on Slick Street. Now he’s not sure if the people he was looking at before are the people he’s looking at now. He’s walking by and people have pins in their noses, and hair the colour of the rainbow, and pants down to their knees.  Vern thinks to himself, “Gee, now that I can see, I wonder if my girlfriend’s ugly.” And now he’s wondering, does he have a cat or a dog?

“The trouble started on Slick Street when I got those damn cataracts fixed. That’s all.”

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

