SMALL GRACES

Hello everyone, everywhere,

It’s been an incredible week. The weather has been cooperating, unless you live in every province because they’re all on fire. That’s not good. To every person who is volunteering and killing themselves out there, we love you, and we really really thank you for what you’re doing.

Okay that’s enough of that sappy crap. Let’s get on with it. Tonight Michelle did outside yoga and I was very happy for her. I would have fallen on my head so I didn’t go. But I wrote this story and I think you’ll like it. It’s a very odd little piece.

I found my new writing spot, and I think that it’s going to be a very good place to write, but I am angry at myself that I’m not getting more done. The pieces that I’m writing are significantly shorter, but they seem to exude this pressure, and I can’t do anything but put these words together, so that’s what I do, and that’ what I am.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Until we meet again at Zeena and Albert Comflopper’s World Home of Javelin Throwing for Beginners and Seniors Lawn Bowling.  As you would expect we can be found right behind Dewey’s Grocery Store (in Dewey’s back yard). Remember our motto: Seniors, if something gets stuck in your foot, yes you do get another turn. You’ll find us easy on Youreabitofacutie Road and Sosmymother Avenue. If you see Floyd Parsnipper, send him home. Thanks. Ethel Parsnipper.

RESTLESS BOY

Composite image of confused businessman doodle

The streets are his playground. He accepts the blame for that. Closes his eyes and lets the sounds caress him. Restless boy. Take comfort in knowing how. Some just cannot rest. The voices in his mind will not be left behind. But you can watch him try, oh yes, every day.

And don’t think he isn’t watching you. Eyes darting back and forth, like watching tennis. He’s not, though. He’s watching life. And life has never been his best friend. Those who try to understand will hear him shout, “My heart is cold, and I am so tired. So is this the penance I’m deemed to live?”

Scared, old, and not so bold. This is the legacy he will leave, for he lived his life as a restless boy. And that is the best he will get.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

