THANKS

Hello everyone everywhere,

Hey everybody. We finally got that rain; some anyways. I don’t know if it was enough. Dean remembered to bring Michelle home. That was very good; she made it through the trip and they both had a wonderful time.

What I want to talk about though is my brother Merv Sutherland. He has been gone for just over a year now and I find it hard because I’m a very private person and he was my sounding board. I always went to him for advice or just to talk…or to laugh. I mean, we grew up together. We got into so much trouble when we were little. Merv was a brilliant man who did many great things in his life and left many friends behind. I just thought that it’s long overdue that I said something about him. The other night I was out on my balcony and I was just looking up at the clouds and I swear I saw him looking at me. I saw his face in the clouds. And I wrote my story ten seconds later. I never stopped until it was done. There aren’t many words but it says what it has to say. I’m sorry it’s taken me so long, but these are the words that I felt so I’ll say them and just know I think of him every day and I will never ever give up. That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Until we meet again at Bill and Dixie Spoton’s World Home of Championship Cowbell Banging and Seniors with Nervous Conditions Calm Day. Where of course of motto is: Folks if two hundred banging cowbells are too much we recommend stomping your feet. You can find us situated next to the old boys’ hall and the place next to it. If the wind is right you’ll hear us for blocks. Right on the corner of Thatwasmyburger Road and Thanks Boulevard. There’s a kid who rides by on his bike.  That’s it.

A FACE IN THE CLOUDS

Faceinclouds

One day I was pondering, and I looked up, and through the clouds I saw you. The night was right and rich. The breeze knew just how to make the trees sway in tears to eyes. I saw you.

Future is the highway now. For me, memories are clouded at best. You always helped me find my way so in my heart you will stay. I saw you.

It felt good.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

3 comments on “THANKS

  1. Really do enjoy your writing jim keep it up. Im always seeing my dad in my vision day to day cant see him in person but the mind is a wonderful place to see loved ones once again. He will always be in our hearts and ill always love you jim. Give me a call when you get back from your parents 🙂

  2. Right on Jim, I enjoyed the stories. One day we gotta meet up for coffee on the corner of Whatsmyburger and Thanks Boulevard 😉

    Nice to read your reflections on Brother Merv, cool that you saw him in the clouds.

Leave a Reply

