HAPPY IS WHAT I WAS

Hello everyone everywhere,

I just got back from my holiday at the lake with the craziest bunch of people I have ever met. Apparently they’re my family. I gave them my best stuff and we all laughed for so many days that our faces hurt. It was a wonderful time. I rested and I wrote, as you’ll hear.

One day I was out in a boat in the middle of the lake and I jumped in. Of course I was wearing a life jacket, but that was ony because my sister wouldn’t let me jump out without one. It was great to be back by the water again, and I realized how much I do miss that. But my life is here, and this is where I belong. And besides that, do you think Michelle is going to let me take off? I think not. And she’s got Dean for backup.

Anyways, Michelle and I are busy at work, I’m tired out, I’m really tanned, and it’s good to  be home…back with all you guys.

That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Until we meet again at Buddy and Sonya Spitter’s World Home of Senior Log Splitting For First Timers and Walking the Invalid. Where the motto is, If you invalids get chips in your teeth, pretend you’re a beaver. We borrowed a hunk of the park to do this. They don’t know we were there. We’re on Kissmybutt Lane and Ididandtookyourwallet Close. Passing Joan Well’s home, say hello. She’ll spit and throw things. You’ll love it.

ONE WINDY DAY

Fly Away

Sand was flying and water was too. And why not? That’s what happens at the beach.

There were three of them that day. Well, five of them, including grandma and mother, but to those boys it was three and not another.

How they would run and jump, reminding all the tired eyes that it’s an exclusive club, reserved for the young.

But we line up, we older ones, to buy imaginary tickets for a quick spin down memory lane.

And the three young people laughed, jumped, and graced the water and the sky with a smile only the young can share.

Dusk is coming, the colours will dance, and shuffling feet home is a kind of a stance.

The three of them kept running, and splashing the water in a wondrous spray. It just came down to a bunch of happy and one windy day.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

