THE DAY AFTER A FEAST

Hello everyone, everywhere,

It’s starting to look a lot like…winter. I’m probably supposed to say Christmas, but I’m thinking winter. I haven’t seen the sun in three days, it’s dull, it’s snowing–not very much fun. I’ve got to get a sun light.

Michelle and I went and took care of a problem I had. I took Michelle with me the other day to help me check out the price of a bed. She haggled it out with the saleswoman while I just tried out the beds and said I like this one and I like that one. Well as things will go, Michelle thought it would be safe to send my out on my own on Thursday to get my bed because I now had all the information. So I went by myself, and I bought a bed. It was the wrong bed, and it was $800 more than the bed I was supposed to get. I thought I’d done great work and I went home with my sales slip and was smiling. And then, I don’t know, I felt like a cold wind coming over me, and I knew I had to phone Michelle. Well I phoned her all right, and I told her how much I paid, and how well I did. Michelle had a stroke on the phone. Apparently I had really screwed up. So Sunday Michelle and I together (you’d better believe it), went and got that bloody bed for $840 less than I had originally paid (for the wrong bed). I’m very happy, but the saleswomen don’t like Michelle. I don’t care, I still like her and I got the bloody bed, That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Until we meet again, here’s a little something that I think is on par for the season.

DARKNESS BECOMES YOU

Children-playing-in-snow

Sally Whitaker was outside of her house one day, playing in the snow. Eleven year old, pigtails, maybe a tad overweight. (No fault of hers–something her mother kept in her jeans did it).

Anyway, her friend, Nellie Smart was coming from across the street. (She lives there). Nellie was so excited she yelled, “Christmas is almost here!”

Sally said, “I’m not so excited.”

“How come, chum?” Nellie asked.

Well, I think of all the people who are alone, or sick, or worse, who are soldiers”, Sally sighed.

“You know what, Sally? For some reason, Christmas is supposed to make you happy. The whole world has Christmas, right? So, get over yourself! (Flin Flon!)”

Sally looked at her friend and said, “I don’t know if the whole world has Christmas, but for the kids in all of us, you are right, Nellie.” And then Sally looked at her little friend, the two of them standing in the snow, seeing how beautiful it felt this season.

“Let’s go sledding down the hill with the rest of the kids”, says Nellie.

“Yes, let’s do it,” says Sally.

Nellie says, “I mean, we’re only eleven girlfriend.”

So off they went, to do what kids are supposed to do. Have fun!

As they were coming home after a long day of fun, the two little girls were pretty tired out. And as they got to Sally’s house, Nellie said goodbye and started to cross the street (at the light). Sally yelled, “How did you get so sweet,Nellie?:

Nellie turned and smiled at her friend and said, “My Gramps. He told me if you stop seeing the beauty in the world then  you see nothing but darkness. And darkness becomes you.”

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

