THINKING OF OLD FRIENDS

Hello everyone, everywhere,

This week I wanted to take a minute to remember old friends. It’s hard to believe that almost everyone I knew is dead or gone. So I always start day to day at ground zero and I create new memories with the new people that I wish to be with. I now surround myself with only positive people because that’s the way I am, and I won’t sit and listen long to a sad face. I can do that on my own if I need to. But I choose to be happy, and I choose to be the greatest musician and writer that I can possibly be. I think the most important thing that’s happened to my life is my friend Michelle, because it’s taken her years, but she’s almost got me believing I’m a good person. And for that reason, she’s not only my writing partner, she’s my best friend.

In this time of holidays and cheer and all that, everybody takes a minute to remember those who are less fortunate. The less fortunate are too busy taking care of themselves to thank you, but I’m sure they’re grateful. I know I was many times. I have learned from Michelle that sometimes just a smile and a soft word is stronger than any sword you’ll every make.

So all of you have a wonderful holiday the best you can, wherever you are and for whatever you do. Make it peaceful, make it count, care, smile and love. That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

HOWARD GRUMBLE TRIES TO REMEMBER

Jim Drumming

Funny sometimes how things turn out. One day Howard Grumble got a phone call out of the blue. It was a voice that Howard didn’t think he’d be hearing. The call was to tell him that his ex-wife had sold the old homestead. The caller said to Howard, “You’ve got paper from the lawyers. Maybe you can get something out of it.”

Howard thought for a minute and said to the caller, “Seventeen years ago I almost died and my ex-wife hated me so much she told no one that I had been in an accident.”

Howard got a permanent brain injury in the accident. He was good with that. (I mean you have to be, or it wins).

So anyway, Harold sat down in his very nice little place and tried very hard to remember why his past was so very dark. He looked up, gathered courage, and at the same time realized…sell the house? You bet. For me the magic is gone and so are you. For all involved in my world, this issue is now buried along with my friends.

In the end, Harold stopped trying to remember, because when he thought about it, some memories were just not worth the trouble.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

