I THOUGHT IT WAS SPRING FOR A MOMENT

Hello everyone, everywhere,

Well folks, remember I was telling you that I fell a couple of weeks ago. Well, it took almost two weeks to get things right with my body. I went into the studio and played today for the first time in ten days, and everything was perfect. There was no one else there; we don’t start back with rehearsals until Wednesday when Tom gets back. I talked to him this morning and he was in great spirits. We’ll all be back together and we can’t wait to start playing again and for our next Soulful Noize concert on March 4, downtown at The Hub on Ross.

Last week, Dean fell on the same spot that I did, but he did it in the daytime and he could break his fall easier. I did it in the dark. Well, that’s enough of that; Michelle slipped too, and she wasn’t crying about it.

Dean decided that the best thing to do was for us to go to Star Wars and watch it in 3D. I told him that I don’t sit well at anything because of my fibro, and I did leave twice during the movie to walk. I didn’t find it hard to catch up when I got back. Dean loved the movie. He raised his three boys with Star Trek or Star Wars or whatever it’s called. He loved it. I don’t sit well. That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Tonight, come with me for…

THE FLIGHT

Sparrow

I stood outside one afternoon.

There was a stir in the air. I smelled it.

And the sun was brilliant that day.

Its warmth pulled my closed eyes open, and my face could feel the gentle breeze.

A little sparrow–alone, maybe; lost, perhaps–but I was sure this little treasure was only caught in the moment.

So I closed my eyes, forgot the laundry on the line, put my arms out wide, and took in my mind and senses: the flight.

So I too could dance in the wind with my spirit bird.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

