WHAT A DAY

Hello everyone, everywhere,

Today I started out thinking that I had a lot to do. Somehow, between 7 and 10 in the morning, I got it all done. I phoned Michelle and said that I needed a gold star.

I’m swimming again, getting my strength back, and getting ready for our March 4 concert which is coming up quicker than quick. It should be a good turnout:  there’s a lot of noise going around about the band.

Other than that, I’ve just been busy pulling story titles out of my head and writing down ideas. This little piece that I’m bringing to you today is just about a guy who’s waiting at the mall to get his glasses fixed. That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

THE MEMORY

Mall on Valentine

I was at the mall on Saturday, waiting for my new backup glasses to be ready. They said they’d be done in one hour. My good ones were being fixed at the other mall. Glasses hate me, so they keep breaking. (I, of course, have nothing to do with it. You’d agree, I’m sure).

I was touring the mall while I waited. They have rest areas, as I call them. You know, you sit on the nice couches and watch the mall walkers go by. Though I am long past Valentine’s Day ceremonies, (being single makes it easier), I couldn’t help but notice all the people holding hands and actually talking to each other. I enjoyed that.

The hour went by, and my backup glasses were ready. As I was leaving the mall, I passed a family. It appeared that the parents were talking to friends. From the skylight above, the sun lit up this section of floor where the people were standing. As I walked by them, I looked up to the sun and then continued my gaze to the floor where two little boys, (I’m guessing they were four or five years old), played in the sunshine.  In the space of about four feet, they were giggling and chasing their shadows.

For one minute I remembered how something like that seemed to be enough to make us laugh. Bless the children, for they never stop amazing us.

Thanks for the memory. I hope it was mine. That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP).

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

