OH BOY, I’M TIRED

Hello everyone, everywhere,

This last few have been crazy, and it’s not over yet. I’m getting ready for our concert that’s coming up on March 4 (at the Hub in downtown Red Deer). Tomorrow I’m back to doing yoga, I’m going swimming, I’m going to try to fit in a quick trim, and then I’m going to try to get to the chiro. Then I’m going to have a shower; that will be about 7 at night, so I can wake up the next morning and start playing at 8:30 a.m. for four hours. And then I have therapy with Alisa.

Though we still have a couple of weeks left before the concert, the band is working tirelessly to get it right because we take such pride in what we do, and we’re earned the right to say that. This band has given me my life back. It’s also made it possible for me to be the writer I am, and with the help of my friends I’m becoming this person that I don’t recognize. They keep calling me a good man. Good man? Oh well, what the hell. That’s all.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Tonight I’d like to leave you with a little story about a little man.

WHAT AN EXTRAORDINARY DAY

Happy Kid

He was only seven, but you might be surprised. His name was Buzz Ballroom. He stood about this tall. Fine manners, if you asked the neighbours. And he’s probably the Lego champion of the world.  To know Buzz is, well, nothing short of a riot.

Buzz Ballroom’s best friends, next to his mom and dad, of course, are Shaggy and Lazy. Oh yeah, two great dogs. Shaggy likes t.v., and Lazy, well, Lazy doesn’t usually care either way.

Buzz’s mom and dad and I are on the same bowling team. Oh yeah, Bob and Betty Ballroom are the salt of the earth. (Yep, bet your Barney on that!) One day last week, they all came over to my house for a visit. Now this winter has been rather strange, so my lawn was half snow and half grass. I didn’t know if I should start shoveling or start cutting the lawn. Anyway, Bob and Betty Ballroom and I were pondering this thought when I felt a tap on my leg. It was Buzz, looking up at me. He said, “I’ll push that snow and maybe summer will come sooner.”

We all stood there are started to laugh. Then Buzz started laughing too. I didn’t know how to thank this little man for his incredible heart. So I said thanks in my own way. Looking down at Buzz I said, “Who’s the tallest building?”

Buzz gazed up at me and said, “You are!”

Me, doing all this yapping? Huh! I’m Gus G. That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

