TIME TO SLOW DOWN

Hello everyone, everywhere,

We just finished another good show on Saturday night, but I found myself irritating people in the band. My concussion (or my conclusion as I like to call it) is not getting better. It’s not affecting my playing but it’s certainly affecting my mood. It’s making me grumpy and makes me say spiteful things which I normally would never say. I’m going to go see the doctor tomorrow.

Other than that, everything’s good. Everybody’s good. (Even Dean). We’ll just carry on. I’m going to get better, don’t worry about that. Michelle won’t let anything happen to me.

So for now, that’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

A SIMPLE GAME

Small Town

Wednesday afternoon in early spring. It could have been any other day, but Wednesday will do. They started back to almost smiling again in good old Dustem and Cleanem Falls. No more than 150 of 400 residents left.

Watched the ground turn to dust. Then it rained a lot and the land came back. Too late for some, not soon enough to others.

Warm sun now rests weary tired faces and thoughts. Harsh it will always be, and then you just get on with it.

Colours come home to play with the wind and the trees. Birds soar, dancing with the light.

Kids–what’s left of them around town–continue to inquire about life, moment to moment. A picture-show of wonder. Find it funny if you’d like. No age limit.

So all in all, not too bad, or too sad. To those of us who find solace in the quiet and a buckling breeze…call it only a simple game: things change.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

