IT’S GETTING BRIGHTER EVERY DAY

Hello everyone, everywhere,

I’d like to start out this week by saying that last week was dark; this week is better.  I wrote this piece because it made me happy. I was sitting out on my balcony in the rain, and I looked down at this tennis court and thought to myself what an incredible moment it would be to see someone dancing in the rain. I don’t mean singing in the rain, I mean dancing in the rain.

Michelle says that I’ve talked enough about that subject so it’s time to move on. She’s really giving me dirty looks so I’m moving on quickly. Okay, everybody in the band is back together again. Everybody has returned home and we had a good session today.

Dean’s in good spirits for a Monday. And that’s all I got today.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. This story needs no introduction. It is what it is.

THEY DANCED IN THE MOONLIGHT AND THE RAIN

Old couple dancing

I believe it was a Thursday night. There was rain. Lots of rain. But falling steady, not hard, you see.

The birds were nestled in the trees. Even the cars knew to be quiet. You have to respect a good rain.

It was getting on eleven p.m. and I was in my chair reading–just passing time is all. All of a sudden, I heard singing. Not loud–just so you could hear it.

I peered out on my balcony which overlooked the city tennis courts. Yes, the lights were on. All was safe in the tennis world.

Though I could not make out their faces, I could certainly make out their smiles. All alone on the tennis court, under the lights, an old couple was having a dance and humming loudly to an old Glenn Miller tune. I knew it from my youth: Moonlight Serenade.

That’s what love looks like. Sometimes, magic happens in the rain.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

2 comments on “IT’S GETTING BRIGHTER EVERY DAY

Leave a Reply

