PAIN, ANGUISH, AND SUNSHINE

Hello everyone, everywhere,

It’s August. New month, new thoughts.

Last month was lost. I spent all of my time thinking about not playing, and it was very difficult. This month…get on with it. I have to retrain my mind and my body. I have to keep on drumming because it’s so natural for me to do, and it brings pleasure to people. I never think about it. I just love doing it. Once you’ve counted in, you’re in a world that is up to you.

That’s all on that.

Nature time. I’ve been spending a lot of time regrouping. I put on the music,  take my sticks, go out on the balcony, and play to whoever wants to watch. And believe me, I give them a good show. But if you’ve ever seen me play you’d know that already.

Michelle and Dean are finally getting settled into their house Edmonton. Grandma is stuck on the lift half-way up. We’ll get her out by September. (This one’s for you Grandma).

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. I’ll leave you tonight with…

FROM THE BALCONY

Balcony

I sat on the balcony one Saturday afternoon.

No one around; just me and the sticks.

The trees screamed of life as the wind pushed their limits.

Not too much, you see. Just enough to make them…dance.

The rain was pouring. Tragically Hip was constant.

Set the stage, I would.

The wind carried the music and the music carried the wind.

Forget me if you have to; I am busy mourning someone who really needs my attention.

Backbeat and compassion, with perhaps insight to my grave mistake of not trusting.

Then I did.

Then I didn’t–because I felt the cold.

Funny though, as I finished these words the sun appeared once more.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

