SOMETIMES REMEMBERING REALLY SUCKS

Hello everyone, everywhere,

First off I want to say that Michelle is fighting like crazy; we’ll figure it out and she’ll get better. Dean’s doing great and Mama B is holding it all together.

This has been another lousy week in Arctic air. I’ve been off from playing for ten days. It was a nice break but on the other side, there was too much time to be thinking.

This week I thought I would tell you a story about myself. When I was in the hospital so long ago, lying in my bed for endless days and nights, I would think about how this all must have been my fault. I just didn’t remember. All I wanted to do was to go home. It never happened, but it would have gone like this.

HEY, IT’S ME!

man-in-hospital-bed

It was so dark and misty that night that only a crescent moon could keep me from falling off the path. I hurried you see; people were waiting. All the stories I would tell; some were mine and some…not so much.

What an adventure! I debated on which tale to spill first.  First, there will be stories of grandeur, and then, like a brush dancing across the easel, I will change and tell you a sad story. You will forgive me now because I’m a better man.

I will not exhaust you with sorrow. My smile will bring you back. Mistakes are measured in time, tallies kept by those who need to do that. No matter now. I’m back. Hey! It’s me! Can you not hear me coming home?

Oh, I am too late.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

