IT’S COLDER THAN HELL BUT WE’RE STILL HERE

Hello everyone, everywhere,

Lately, I’m feeling really positive about everything. That’s very unusual for me because usually winter finishes me. But not this time.  You know, I never felt prouder of my Canadian heritage than when I realized that no matter how busted up I am, I continue to get through these winters.

There’s a swimming pool five minutes away from my place and I used to go swim laps twice a week. I usually would do the breaststroke or the butterfly because they help to build up muscles I need to be in the water because fighting this fibro is a daily chore. Imagine someone with a bow and arrow and you pull back that string so hard.and then you let go of that arrow and t hat bowstring snaps back into place. That’s fibro and that’s what I have dealt with every day for the last twenty-five years. I have it so bad that they can’t even begin to figure out what to do with me. I need to get back in the pool soon.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest. Tonight I’d like to present for those of us who waste our lives looking at others instead of valuing what we already have.

SOMETIMES YOU WIN

happy-man

There are so many days that I wish I could forget

When I opened my mouth just wide enough for the shoe to fit.

Oh sure, they have more than I do,

But if I can keep warm and safe,

I see that it is not about what they have,

It’s about what I have.

Because how do we who are not they judge them for getting it right?

Only my image in the mirror speaks the truth.

The rest of it is make believe and self-abuse.

When the last light goes out and I’m standing in the dark,

I will see it all and smile.

Sometimes you lose, but sometimes in life,

No matter what, you win.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP).

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

