WAIT FOR IT

Hello everyone, everywhere,

I’ll get the pleasantries over with first. The music’s great. Michelle and Dean are doing the best they can. And Mama B is still happy.

Anyways, tonight I want to talk about exhaustion–mental and physical exhaustion. You know, today is supposed to be the saddest day of the year but that’s actually coming later in the week on Friday. I believe that 2016 kicked the crap out of everybody and if that’ s just the beginning then it’s going to be quite a ride in 2017.  When I look in that man’s eyes I feel no peace in my heart, only worry.

Between that and a really crappy winter it’s been hard enough on anybody, but on people like me, it’s been an ass kicker. And it’s only half over. I try to look at life every day as a blessing and I try to smile. Some days are harder than others because I’m tired of smiling and hoping that someone will smile back. I always know who’s lying to me, no matter what mask they wear. I guess that this leads up to what I wrote about tonight.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

TIRED

jumble_of_letters

Oh yes, I am tired. Fifty years on the road tired. You know, that tired that won’t let you rest. Dreams come; reality washes all of that away.

When I was a young boy I saw these men and women with tired eyes and leathered skin. To me, it was an awakening in my mind. Work hard. Never mind about yourself. Those were the words of wisdom a long time ago. There’s plenty of time for that later. That was the tagline I was raised on.

All these years have passed. Things have been started, some finished. It matters not. I have pushed so hard, so long, alone. There is an ache inside of me that will never be fixed. So pardon me, everyone, everywhere. I just need a few minutes. I am very tired.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP).

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

