UNDERSTANDING SOMETHING ELSE

Hello everyone, everywhere,

Let’s get all the niceties out. The music’s wonderful. Michelle is fighting hard. And I guess that’s what this thing is all about–it’s about understanding something else.

You know, I’ve had some bad things happen to me, but this time it was just exhaustion. I had not been feeling all that well for a few days and I played too hard. The good news is that I went to practice today and there were new mikes for the drums. So next time I won’t have to kill myself and play as hard.

This story tells the tale of what happened.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts if only for a moment…and rest.

SIXTEEN HOURS

drumkids

This tale takes you with me on a journey to the other side.

I had played a concert in the afternoon and it was good.  And it seemed that as fast as it started it was over, the equipment was getting pulled off the stage, and my job was done. I gave it everything…and more; played harder than I should.

Home–hadn’t been feeling my best. Two beers in the fridge. It’s Friday! It was six p.m. and I was exhausted. Had to sleep. So sleep I did, for sixteen hours.

The scene is set. Now the drama begins.

For those of you who wonder, I have a very serious brain injury. But I am high-functioning–in fact, you would never know unless you spent time with me or I told you. Ever since I went down in my accident, sometimes I let my mind go. Well, I spent a day and a half with my passed-on brother Merv.

We were sitting, talking, and answering each other in the gray. I told him I was getting worn out and he looked at me and said, “It has always been hard for you. Like you never really had anything, but now you do.”

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

