YOU BLINK AND THEY’RE GONE

Hello everyone, everywhere,

I don’t have any children but I like to write about them. I see kids with their parents and when they do something funny I laugh to myself and I remember. And then I turn it into my world.

I can only imagine how exhausting it must be to try to teach your children about the world today.  It’s hard to find answers in a world that changes day by day. And everybody keeps dancing to the fool on the hill.

I think if I had children I would tell them to be smart, to be cautious, to listen to the music in the wind, but for God’s sake, be happy. And I would say, “You’re bigger so you protect the smaller.”

But what the hell do I know?

I thought that tonight I would write a little something about a boy who grows into a man in a day. I hope you enjoy it. That’s it.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

I SAW HER DANCE

mystical_waterfall_by_midniteskyx-d35023z

The sky is black, yet it is only 5:30 p.m. as I take to the hills looking for adventure. Will I pounce on a tiger? No, no tiger. Maybe a giant is in the woods. (I think now, the woods is a good place to leave a giant). But I am eleven and I can’t be stopped.

I move carefully, like a black panther. Yes, that will work for me. As I stealthily make my way to the waterfall I hear singing. I crouch, shaking only a little, my eyes round and wide as I peer through the last bush I can find. And there is a beautiful older woman–she could be thirty. It doesn’t matter to me; you see that, right? She has a blanket around her with a star on the back and she looks like she is calling to the moon.

Things might have changed since then. But that night an eleven-year-old man watched a princess dance.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

