LOOKING THROUGH THE WINDOW OF SPRING

Hello everyone, everywhere,

This week has been uplifting. The music has hit a place that it has never been before. When I left the studio today I bowed to everyone and told them that I was humbled by their performances. The dream that I had in the beginning for this band is finally starting to evolve. I guess we had to grow as people and as musicians to get us to the place we are in now. It’s a very good starting point.

Other than that, I have had more than my share of difficulties with a few things this weekend. My humidifier needs to be fixed and I’m working on it. There’s just one little piece that I can’t hold with my stupid hands. Luckily Dean’s coming to help me. We’ll fix it and I’ll be happy again.

I’m hoping this weather clears up a bit, but in the meantime, everybody I know, including me, is just laughing our heads off because we’ve got nothing better to do. We know the spring weather is coming so until it gets here we’ll keep laughing.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

A CHANCE MEETING

It was late in the afternoon on a Thursday. There was really no one in the place. Outside it was raining cats and dogs, as they’d say. People were covering their heads with anything they could find and scurrying as fast as they could to go where they had to be.  She was working when he sauntered in. He looked, well, like a man would look who had only hindsight about carrying an umbrella. She gazed up from what she was doing, saw this fellow looking like a drowned rat, and laughed. He wasn’t sure what to do, so he laughed too.

“Sit down, buddy. Do you want a coffee? You look like you need to dry off,” she said.

He smiled and said, “Coffee sounds just right. Thank you”.

I must have caught the right moment because she smiled back, he thought.

He sat at the counter for more than two hours. Customers came and went but those two kept talking. They had both walked through a lot of life, you could tell. Eventually, it was time to leave back into the obscure. As he paid up he blushed as he asked her, “Are you…I mean..I was wondering..um…do you work tomorrow?”

She blushed as well and said, “Oh I’m off…but I’m sure I have a lot to do or…um..okay well I work Saturday morning if you’re thinking about coming back.”

He smiled and said, “Yeah I’m off tomorrow but…uh…you know, things to do…uh…I don’t know…yes, Saturday morning feels just perfect.”

I guess two lonely people just found each other.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP)

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

