I HAD COFFEE WITH COUNT BASIE

Hello everyone everywhere,

You know, Count Basie was one of the greatest jazz musicians I have ever seen. I grew up with him and Duke Ellington. My father brought me up on big band jazz and taught me to understand what they were doing.

I can’t remember most of my past but I do remember something that happened when I was eighteen. My father ran a big hotel and I was sitting in the coffee shop one morning. I looked up, and standing there was my father and Count Basie.

I’m falling off my chair, and my dad calls me over and introduces me. I mean, this man was a legend! Is still a legend!

He said to me, “You’re a player.”

“I’m trying,” I said.

And he said to me, “Well let’s have coffee and we’ll chat”.

That’s pretty much how it went. So there I am, this eighteen-year-old nobody having coffee with one of the greatest jazz legends of all time. We had a wonderful talk. I don’t remember a damn word of it but I know it was a good one.

Anyway, that’s just another remarkable moment of my life that this brain tried to take away, but I found it again. It’s a great story and it’s a true story.

That’s all.

And now it’s time to close our eyes and our thoughts, if only for a moment…and rest.

THE STORY OF SANDY CHARLES

An old man sits by the river path in the park. Sandy Charles likes to sit on a certain bench where the river feels more solitary. It isn’t much of a day for early spring–gloom always sets in on a dark day.

Sandy always has a smile if you need one, and even a story to tell, though in retrospect he knows that most of the stories will stay with him. He is trying hard to piece together something that is so badly broken.

And then events happened and that something became a new something.  Everything became new.

The new Sandy Charles looks pretty much the same as the old one. But he knows that he is very different. Years of saying and doing in a constant search, only to realize that the dance is over and all these many years have now brought him to a crossroad.

It is time for him to close his eyes and rest, if only for a  moment.

That’s all.

(NEVER EVER GIVE UP).

By jamesghutcheson

Leave a Reply

